I have news. I am moving.

I am part excited about our little adventure and part devastated to be leaving my home. The move also means leaving Cardiff and all the friends we have made here.

We’re moving because Mr PFW has a new job, which he is very excited by, plus it’s nearer our families. But I know I am going to be sad when we shut the door.

We’ve only been here for a couple of years but I feel we have made some big improvements. But I am gutted that I haven’t had the time to do everything we wanted to.

So here’s the list of jobs that won’t get done!

1.Turning the dining room into a playroom
Because we have a breakfast table that seats four in the kitchen, we don’t tend to use the dining room all that much. So I had bought a white table (I went fairly cheap and cheerful from BHS) which could double up as a craft table for the little one plus it could seat eight when he had more people over for dinner.

I was deciding whether to paint the floorboards. They’re currently painted dark brown. Or whether to carpet which would have been cosy for a playroom.

20141028-213633-77793027.jpg

2 Replace fireplace in dining room
I was planning on something much less clunky to fit in better with the 1930s vibe. It’s a bit of a monstrosity.

20141028-213728-77848187.jpg

3. Revamp Little One’s room
The carpet was here when we arrived and it’s such great quality and in good condition, that if couldn’t justify replacing it. But it’s not really my cup of tea. But I was planning on introducing a few, fun elements to the room…a new lick of paint and these gorgeous Belle & Boo wall stickers that I’d bought on sale which work well with the teepee he was given for his birthday..

20141028-215404-78844060.jpg

20141028-215528-78928786.jpg

I had also bought a Cathryn Weatherhead illustration to place over the fireplace, together with a few other bits and bobs I’ve gathered.

20141028-220159-79319480.jpg

I can’t get enough of this illustrator’s work.

So it’s been pretty manic here, planning and sorting everything out. We are hoping to exchange contracts soon on the house and then we will rent for a while when we move to Shropshire. That way, we can decide whereabouts we want to buy.

On top of that, I have had to hand my notice in at work. I’m a PR Manager so I have decided to take the leap and go freelance.

So my first priority in the new house will be a lovely, new workspace where I can focus on the blog and my freelancing! If you have any inspiration or moving tips, let me know!

Leave a Reply

