DIY advent calendar

IMG_0133-0.JPG

Yes, yes I know. I am oh so horribly late with the old advent calendar blogpost. But I do have a good excuse.

I have moved house! Remember I told you we were moving from Cardiff to Shrewsbury? Well we have done it! But more about all of that in another post and on to the advent calendar.

I cannot take any credit for this DIY project. My attentions have been focused on the move and keeping our toddler settled and happy through the whole process! So I have turned to my sister (who runs Made by Marketing – unashamed plug) who is rather handy with a needle, thread and a pile of patchwork squares.

Over to Elizabeth…

This year, I decided to craft an advent calendar – I thought it would be a good way to use up some leftover fabrics I had knocking around and a way for me to get quietly excited about Christmas.

I found the pattern in issue 13 of Love Patchwork and Quilting Magazine and it is by the ever-creative Helen Philipps.

I took Helen’s lead and decided to mix red and green scrap fabrics, regardless of whether they had a festive theme or not. And then mixed in a few specials.

IMG_0130.JPG

The dates are ink stamped which was also part of the appeal for me. The idea is that it doesn’t look too exact which is never a problem with my sewing!!

IMG_0121.JPG

I have filled the pockets with mini baubles and – every now and again – a candy cane or Christmas decoration makes an appearance. Best of all, we will be using the calendar to do our own take on the Christmas book countdown. Each day, there will be a book title to unfold and a large pile of stories will accumulate over the month.

IMG_0132.JPG

For the last few weeks, I have been secretly squirreling away any books we have relating to snow, penguins, presents ( you get the drift) and also stocking up on a few new/ secondhand titles. Our resident story monster will be in heaven!

Leave a Reply

